Cargo dangerous goods classifications

Dangerous goods are articles and substances which are capable of posing a risk to health, safety, property or the environment and which are shown in the list of dangerous goods in the Regulations (ICAO and IATA) or which are classified according to these Regulations.

ICAO/IATA DG Regulations more precisely define dangerous goods as those goods, which meet the classification criteria of:

  • one or more UN hazard classes, relating to the type of hazard and
  • where applicable, to one of three UN packing groups, relating to the degree of danger.

Hazard Classes/Divisions and Packing Groups

According to UN classification dangerous goods are divided into 9 (nine) hazard classes

reflecting the type of hazard involved. In some cases these classes are further divided into divisions to identify a particular risk within one class. Explosives are also assigned to one of thirteen compatibility groups which identify the kind of explosive articles and substances that are deemed to be compatible. Compatibility groups are identified by capital Latin letter following the division number.

Cargo IMP Codes are used to identify dangerous goods in cargo documents such as cargo manifest, NOTOC and SITA messages,

Dangerous Goods Classes

  1. Explosives
  2. Gases
  3. Flammable liquids
  4. Flammable solids
  5. Oxidizing substances and Organic peroxides
  6. Toxic and Infectious substances
  7. Radioactive material
  8. Corrosives
  9. Miscellaneous Dangerous Goods

Within some hazard classes criteria are developed for dangerous goods to be assigned to the relevant packing group according to the degree of danger

Do you wish to transport your shipment from anywhere to Uganda? you can request your quotation as easy as clicking the button bellow

Leave a Reply